## Report on the Proceedings of The First Advisory Meeting for the Sixth Critical Studies Conference, 23-25 August 2017

## (Venue: Swabhumi, Kolkata)

The first advisory meeting for the Sixth Critical Studies Conference (23-25 August 2017, Venue: Swabhumi, Kolkata) was held at the CRG office on 20 March 2017 at 5 pm. Ranabir Samaddar chaired the meeting.

Present: Paula Banerjee, Ranabir Samaddar, Anita Sengupta, Priya Singh, Sucharita Sengupta, Adrija Maitra , Somdatta Chakraborty, Ritam Sengupta, Suhit Sen, Byasdeb Dasgupta, Shymalendu Majumdar, Sabyasachi Basu Raychaudhuri, Kaustubh Mani Sengupta, Iman Mitra, Samata Biswas, Madhurilata Basu, V. Ramaswamy, Anwesha Sengupta and Subharanjan Dasgupta

Regret: Subhas Ranjan Chakraborty, Prasanta Ray, Sibaji Pratim Basu, Arup Kr. Sen, Subir Bhaumik, Atig Ghosh, and Samita Sen, Samaresh Guchhait and Snehashish Mitra

1. The meeting begun with deliberation on the possible themes of the panels that could be proposed for the conference. The following came up/were discussed:

## **Frontier Urbanism**

Literature and Cinema Eviction/Dispossession in the new cities Environment in/of the city Migrants in new vocations, precarity of new labour force Gender and the city Communalism, caste and the changing city Violence, direct violence, expulsion State's role in urban violence Urban governance

## Transformation of smaller cities

It was decided to narrow down the list to fewer themes. There could be parallel sessions but not too many. The number parallel sessions is to be decided after booking of auditorium and actually receiving proposals. Panel proposals will be given precedence over proposals of individual papers.

2. Proposition for a keynote, an evening special lecture, and a discussion of a key book

3. Ensuring global outreach and participation in the conference from outside the country (from Germany, China, South Africa, etc.)

4. Uniform (irrespective of national affiliation) registration fee of INR 200 per day.

5. Ensuring features for Refugee Watch Online

6. The Fifth Distinguished Lecture to be held on this occasion.

7. Collaboration with Rabindra Bharati University for the distinguished lecture whose location to be decided, and the lecture will be held likely at the ICCR auditorium.

8. Organising Committee formed. Members: Suhit Sen, Adrija Maitra, Byasdeb Dasgupta, Sabyasachi Basu Raychaudhuri, Kaustubh Mani Sengupta, Iman Mitra, Samata Biswas, Madhurilata Basu, V. Ramaswamy, Subharanjan Dasgupta, Anita Sengupta, Ritam Sengupta, and Paula Banerjee. The committee will be helped by all CRG staff members. The Director will also advise and help the committee. The Convener of the organizing committee: Anita Sengupta; Assistant convener: Ritam Sengupta

9. The next meeting of the Organising Committee will be held at the CRG office on the 21<sup>st</sup> of April, 2017 at 5 pm.