Research & Programme Associates

Aditi Mukherjee is a Research and Programme Associate at the Calcutta Research Group (CRG). She holds a BA and MA in History from the Presidency College and the University of Calcutta respectively. She has also completed her MPhil in Foreign Policy Studies from the University of Calcutta. Aditi is currently a PhD researcher at the Leiden University, the Netherlands and in the final stages of completion of her doctoral research. Her PhD dissertation draws on ethnographic research conducted at different types of migrant dwellings located at the peri urban margins of Calcutta, in an attempt to address questions of different modalities of displacement and tiers of migrant/urban citizenship within third world metropolitan contexts. She is the recipient of the Erasmus Mundus IBIES PhD fellowship from September 2013 to August 2016. She is associated with the 1947 Partition Archive based at Berkeley, California as a Citizen Historian and has contributed interviews of East Bengali migrants to the Archive. She has presented her research widely at many international forums including the School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London, the Lund University, University of Gottingen among others on themes of displacement, place-making, and tiers of migrant citizenship in post-colonial South Asia. She has published her research in journals and seminar proceeding volumes. She has also been involved in organizing international conferences on the theme of displacement. Her broad research interests include processes of third world urbanism, and myriad forms of dispossession and displacement associated with it.


Detailed Curriculum Vitae


Rajat Roy is the project coordinator of the ongoing research project Populism and Populist Politics in South Asia with special reference to India (2019) of Calcutta Research Group (CRG). Earlier, he was also involved in another research project ‘Ecosystems of Life: A Bangladesh India Initiative’ (1914), that was taken up by CRG and supported by IUCN. He has co-edited a book titled ‘Political Ecology of Survival’ (Orient Black Swan) with Madhurilata Basu and Ranabir Samaddar. Besides working as a professional journalist, first as fulltime, and now as freelancer, he has also been regularly delving into research work under the aegis of CRG. Other than writing numerous articles for various newspapers and magazines on current affairs, he has contributed to Economic & Political Weekly, SEMINAR and other journals. He is also a reviewer of manuscripts for Orient Black Swan.


Detailed Curriculum Vitae


Ria De is a Research Associate at the Mahanirban Calcutta Research Group. She has submitted her PhD thesis at the Department of Film Studies, English and Foreign Languages University, Hyderabad. In her doctoral thesis, she worked on contemporary film stardom and intermediality in popular Hindi cinema. In addition to film, her areas of interest include populism, popular cultures, caste and gender studies, feminism etc. She also writes film reviews for popular news domains.


Detailed Curriculum Vitae


Previous Research & Programme Associates



    Priya Singh


Ritam Sengupta
Somdutta Chakraborty
Anwesha Sengupta
Iman Kr. Mitra
Shuvro Prosun Sarker

Anasua Basu Ray Chaudhury
Atig Ghosh
Suha Priyadarshini Chakravorty
(15.05.09-18.01.10 & 02.01.12-28.02.13)
Mithilesh Kumar
Ishita Dey
Geetisha Dasgupta
Sutirtha Bedajna

Sanam Roohi
Ksenia Glebova
Debdatta Chaudhuri
Shreyasi Chaudhuri

Pritima Sharma
Madhuresh Kumar
Aditi Bhaduri
Nilajan Dutta